DeSE2014 Committees

General Chair

A picture of Dr. George A. Papadopoulos

Dr. George A. Papadopoulos holds the (tenured) rank of Full Professor in the Department of Computer Science, University of Cyprus. His research interests include Advanced Software Engineering, Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing, Open, Distance and E-Learning, Distributed and High Performance Computing, E-Business, E-Health, Internet Technologies and Service Oriented Computing. He has published over 150 papers as book chapters or in internationally refereed journals and conferences, he serves in the Editorial Board of 5 international journals and has served as a Chair or Program Committee member in more than 100 international conferences. Professor Papadopoulos is a recipient of an 1995 ERCIM-HCM scholarship award. He has been involved or is currently participating, as coordinator or partner, in over 70 internationally and nationally funded projects (total budget for his participation around 7 MEURO) and he has been invited by the E.U. as an Expert Evaluator or Reviewer more than 50 times. He is the Director of the Software Engineering and Internet Technologies (SEIT) Laboratory

TPC Chair

Abir 1

Dr. Abir Hussain is a senior lecturer at the School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences at Liverpool John Moores University, UK. She completed her PhD study at The University of Manchester, UK in 2000 with a thesis title Polynomial Neural Networks for Image and Signal Processing. She has published numerous referred research papers in conferences and Journal in the research areas of Neural Networks, Signal Prediction, Telecommunication Fraud Detection and Image Compression. She is a PhD supervisor and an external examiner for research degrees including PhD and MPhill.

Steering Committee Chair
Dr. Naeem Radi

 Dr. Naeem Radi is the CEO of the Al Khawarizmi University College in the UAE. His main area of research involves the design of image processing algorithms for image compression.
Dr Radi has published many journal and conference papers and reports on many aspects of this research and has also acted as Session Chair and on program committees for many international conferences. He serves as professional fellowship for BCS and as a Professional Member for IEEE.

Steering Committee

  • Prof. Abdulla Alshamsi, UAE
  • Dr. Husam Al-Ulama, Dubai
  • Prof. Madjid Merabti, UK
  • Prof. Taleb Bendiab, Australia
  • Prof. Isa Qamber, IEEE, Bahrain
  • Prof. Panos Liatsis, UK
  • Prof. Paulo Lisboa, UK
  • Prof. Abdulla Al Ani, Oman
  • Dr. Abir Hussain, UK
  • Dr. Rozaida Ghazali, Malaysia
  • Prof. Majid Al-Taee, Jordan
  • Prof. Atulya Nagar, UK
  • Prof. I. E. Ivanov, Bulgaria
  • Dr. Hissam Tawfik, UK
  • Prof. Amir Atiya, Egypt
  • Prof. Duc Pham, UK
  • Prof. John Garabaldi, UK
  • Prof. Zarko Cucej, Slovenia
  • Dr. Dimitris Kalamatianos, Ireland
  • Prof. Marek Domański, Poland
  • Prof. Richard Bayford, UK
  • Prof. Geoffrey Shin, Hong Kong
  • Prof. Aura Conci, Brazil
  • Dr. Lean Yu, China
  • Prof. Paul Cristea, Romania
  • Prof. Khalil Al-Dulemi, Iraq
  • Prof. Ahmed Al-Shamma’a, UK
  • Dr. C. Mihai Dobre, Romania
  • Dr. F. Gwadry-Sridhar, Canada
  • Dr. Dhiya Al-Jumeily, UK
  • Mr. Ali Ghuname, UAE
  • Dr. Gurvinder Baicher-Singh, UK
  • Dr Tatjana Družovec, Slovenia
  • Prof Richard Zobel, Thailand
  • Dr  V. E. Gueorguiev, Bulgaria
  • Dr Roxana  Radvan, Romania
  • Prof. Hussain Al-Ahmad, UAE
  • Prof. Wathiq Mansoor, UAE
  • Prof. Raouf Naguib, UK
  • Dr. Saad Ali Amin, UK
  • Prof. Stuart Fairclough, UK
  • Dr. David Lamb, UK
  • Dr. Ahmed Alosi, UAE
  • Dr. Ahmad Taher Azar, Egypt
  • Dr Samhaa El-Beltagy, Egypt
  • Prof. Aboul Ella Hassanien, Egypt
  • Dr Tariq Rahim Soomro, Egypt
  • Prof. Farid Meziane, UK
  • Dr Rafael Tolosana-Calasanz, Spain
  • Dr. Akash Singh, USA
  • Dr. Mohammed Saeed, UK
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Roßmann, Germany