MobiChess 2013 Call for Papers

The workshop seeks workshop proposal submissions (consisting of a paper) on all theoretical and practical aspects of mobile consumer healthcare networks, services and applications, as well as experimental studies of fielded systems on topics including, but not limited to, those shown below: Healthcare providers from around the globe

• Mobile applications for elderly healthcare

• Mobile applications for adherence monitoring in aggressive treatment regimens

• Mobile devices for healthcare

• Scalability, performance and reliability of mobile healthcare apps

• Mobile interfaces for data Visualization

• Mobile devices for patient monitoring

• Ad hoc and wireless sensor systems and networks

• Mobile data management and processing

• Mobile and wireless technologies for healthcare applications

• Radio-Frequency (RFID) wireless technology in medical devices

• Wireless Identification and Services Platform (WISP) for mobile healthcare

• Medical Device Control via Wireless Technology

• Safe, Effective, Secure and Reliable Use of Wireless Technology in healthcare

• Wearable and implantable sensors

• Sensor Networks for ubiquitous and pervasive healthcare

• Health specific wireless communication protocols in healthcare (WMTS, IMS, MICS)

• Wireless Body Area Networks

• Consumer Healthcare (cHealth)

• Stream reasoning algorithms for behaviour and activity monitoring


Guidelines for Submission Submitted papers must represent original material that is not currently under review in any other conference or journal, and has not been previously published. Paper length should not exceed five-page technical paper manuscript. The paper should be used as the basis for a 20 – 30 minute workshop presentation. Papers should be submitted in a .pdf or .ps format by selecting MobiChess 13 on the EDAS paper submission website and then selecting the workshop submission link.

A separate cover sheet should show the title of the paper, the author(s) name(s) and affiliation(s), and the address (including e-mail, telephone, and fax) to which the correspondence should be sent. All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings by the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc). At least one author of accepted papers is required to register at the full registration rate


Important Dates

Submission of papers 16 July 2013
Notification of acceptance 31 August 2013
Submission of camera-ready paper 18 September 2013
Author online registration 18 September 2013



Workshop co-Chairs Dr Paul Fergus, Liverpool John Moores University, UK Dr Mario Kolberg, University of Stirling, UK

Programme Committee  Members

Barry Allen, St. George Hospital, (AUS)

Ana Bernardos, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, (Spain)

Raouf Boutaba, University of Waterloo, (CA)

Marcus Brunner, NEC Europe Ltd., (Germany)

Giacomo Cabri, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, (Italy)

Paul Fergus, Liverpool John Moores University, (UK)

Lowerence Foweather, Liverpool John Moores University, (UK)

Lisandro Granville, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, (Brazil)

Femida Gwadry-Sridhar, University of Western Ontario (Candada)

John Haggerty, University of Salford, (UK)

Mark Hawley, University of Sheffield, (UK)

Aravind Kailas, University of North Carolina Charlotte, (USA)

Mario Kolberg, University of Stirling, (UK)

Alar Kuusik, ELIKO Technology Competence Centre, (Estonia)

Fedor Lehocki, Slovak University of Technology, (Slovak Republic)

Panos Liatsis, City Univeristy London, (UK)

David Llewellyn-Jones, Liverpool John Moores University, (UK)

Marilyn Marilyn, McGee-Lennon University of Glasgow, (UK)

Madjid Merabti, Liverpool John Moores University, (UK)

Hussein Mouftah, University of Ottawa, (CA)

Subhas Mukhopadhyay, Massey University, (NZ)

Alar Kuusik, Tallinn University of Technology, (EE)

Ella Pereira, Edge Hill University, (UK)

Rubem Pereira, Liverpool John Moores University, (UK)

Carsten Roecker,RWTH Aachen University, (Germany)

Michael Rosenberg, University of Western Australia, (AUS)

Gourab Sen Gupta, Massey University, (NZ)

Gareth Stratton, LJMU (UK)

Geoff West, Curtin University of Technology (Australia)